General Secretary, you need a system! - Reisverslag uit Maastricht, Nederland van Marlien Liempt - WaarBenJij.nu General Secretary, you need a system! - Reisverslag uit Maastricht, Nederland van Marlien Liempt - WaarBenJij.nu

General Secretary, you need a system!

Door: Marlien

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marlien

27 Juni 2013 | Nederland, Maastricht

Tuesday I had the premiere of Collaborators. For those of you who are not part of UCM or have been living under a rock: this is A UCM-play which I co-directed and act in. But not alone, we made this play with a group of 25 students and boy did we have fun! So Tuesday, when months of tension was leaving our bodies, we happily walked to café tribunal to celebrate our successful first performance.

Coincidentally, when I left the UCM building, I walked into my old board and lovely friends of Alles is Drama. They just had the last general assembly of the year. The whole association was in an epic state, happily walking towards the tribunal. (I btw can’t believe it has only been a year since I left my position as president of AID).

Do you know that song of cheers? “I wanna be…Where everybody knows your name. And they’re always glad you came” That is how I felt Tuesday night when I was dancing on the tables of the tribunal. Everybody there knew my name, and they all seemed glad I came, and I was glad they came. And I could not believe my luck. To feel so welcome, so happy, and surrounded by so many nice people. And then it struck me. I am leaving this place in 50 days. And for a moment I could not understand why.

Why going to the other side of the world if I love my life here so much? Fuck adventure, it’s overrated. Being happy with the things you have, that’s how you grow old! Of course, without the prospect of leaving this place, the night would not have meant so much to me. Knowing that I am leaving this place does make me more sentimental. Everything suddenly becomes a possible last opportunity to see people. And I should not forget the wise words of Jobbe Hoebink: The great thing about going away is knowing that it will all be the same when you come back. I hope he is right.

Wait, did I say I was leaving in 50 days? Oh no, I hadn’t realized. So much to do! I don’t have a visa yet, travel insurance, subrent agreement. Panic! And then the play: no time, two more performances. And that project for school, can’t fail it. PANIC!

And then I remembered the most awesome line of our play: “General Secretary, you need a system!” Okay, Stalin used his system to kill millions of people, I might take another approach. But a system is what I need. So first the play, then the project, and then getting that visum as fast as possible. And in the meantime, I am trying to enjoy every moment here in Maastricht.

p.s. Thought writing in English was nicer, so I can include all my international friends as well.
p.p.s. To follow my travel buddies: Julien: http://juliengoeskorea.waarbenjij.nu
and Dominic: http://domigoeseast.wordpress.com/
p.p.s. Sentimental feelings!!! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h-mi0r0LpXo

  • 19 Juli 2013 - 22:06

    Dorothé Slabbers:

    Met spanning wachten we op je verslagen uit Seoel.
    X Dorothé

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Nederland, Maastricht

Seoul Seoul

Studeren in Seoul

Recente Reisverslagen:

22 Januari 2014

All stories must come to an end

15 Januari 2014

What are the odds?

28 December 2013

The day of the Turtle

21 December 2013

How not to spend your very last day in Korea

25 November 2013

K-style
Marlien

Actief sinds 17 Dec. 2012
Verslag gelezen: 312
Totaal aantal bezoekers 9003

Voorgaande reizen:

01 Augustus 2013 - 31 December 2012

Seoul Seoul

Landen bezocht: