Hello Seoul! - Reisverslag uit Seoel, Zuid-Korea van Marlien Liempt - WaarBenJij.nu Hello Seoul! - Reisverslag uit Seoel, Zuid-Korea van Marlien Liempt - WaarBenJij.nu

Hello Seoul!

Door: Your Humble Narrator

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marlien

16 September 2013 | Zuid-Korea, Seoel


Yes, I know, long time no seen. Let’s not waste words with apologizing for the fact that I didn’t update my blog. Settling in takes some time and you know, there’s a country to explore ;) But I have found some time to tell you a bit more about my new life in Seoul.

Let’s start with the Uni. As a said last time, it’s really different from UCM. And to be honest, it bores the hell out of me. One example: at UCM, in the literature course, you read 7 novels in 7 weeks. In my literature course here I read one novel in 11 weeks! But apart from the boredom during the lectures, I don’t really mind! It’s nice to have a break from the ever ongoing study load back home. And I really love the campus. It’s like living in a Harry Potter world. And every morning I get to walk on a path overshadowed by trees with drops of sunlight falling through: magical.

For those of you who are interested, here is the list of courses I am taking:
Human communication
Strategic communication research
World literature
Broadcasting and film studies
Media and social change
Understanding Korean social structure and culture
The whole thing seems also a bit random to me, but at least I don’t have to write thousands of words a week ;)

My roommate Jenny is f*cking great! Seriously, we really get along well and have so much fun together. We are making long lists of things we have to do in Seoul, but in the meantime spending way too much time watching series together in our dorm. (only two weeks until the next HIMYM!). On this list among others: go to the cat café (buy a drink and hug a cat). Shop the hell out of MyongDong and Dongdaemun (which we already started with at our first week here), visit Namsam tower, party in Gangnam and Hongdae, go to Everland (a huge amusement park) and go to a Korean sauna.

The difficult thing about living in such a big city is that I always have the feeling I should be doing something. (you know me, always want too much at the same time and everything fast). So I try to also enjoy the more peaceful days and gain energy, for I am still more tired than normal. (I think that’s a combination of the lack of vitamins, lack of sleep and the whole process of acclimatizing to a new environment) Anyway, I am working on it and try to be patient.

Have I told you about KUBA? I did right? Well, it truly is a drinking association. But in a very nice way. We often have an activity first, before we start with Korean drinking games. For instance, we had a cheering orientation that was both amazing and crazy. For three hours, we learned the melodies and movements to some of the most famous Korea University songs, so we can all support our team at the upcoming Korea - Yonsei games. (which is comparable to the Harvard – Yale boat race) This is just the tip of the iceberg: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OSGpjneD5Sk. For weeks, Anam (the area KU is located at) is decorated with posters and banners about the upcoming games. I will of course proudly where my crimson shirt and cheer!

KUBA also introduced me to ‘makgeolli’, rice wine that’s often mixed with yoghurt. Sounds appealing? It’s one of the best things I have ever tasted. But nothing goes above ‘somaek’ : beer mixed with Soju, always a guarantee for a nice night out.

The Korean culture is in many aspects amazing. I love the way their lives are centered around food, especially eating together is nice. I have no problem with eating in a restaurant everyday! (and it’s not even such a big burden on my wallet). Of course, the hierarchical structure, for instance among young people who just are a bit older than each other is quite different from what I am used to. If a guy is one year older you would call him oppa (opa!), which means older brother. (but only girls can say this). A sophomore also feels the duty to help a freshman, which I think is a good thing. The dating culture is still a thing I have to explore, but there sure are a lot of couples around here! And of course, with the whole separated gender rules, you will see many of them lovebird around the dormitories at night. (so romantic).

One thing that I am very surprised with is the girls’ tendency to photoshop their facebook pictures. (I am not sure about guys). It’s already so hard to live up to the digital image one creates by only showing happy pictures on facebook. How can one live up to a digital image that simply is not true? And it’s really common. Also your passport photo will be photoshopped without you asking. (a whiter skin, a little less pimples, remove the bags under the eyes and away with that chin!) All part of the service of course.

What else is there to say? Ah yes, next week its Chuseok, a national holiday in Korea. Dominic, Julien, Jenny and I have booked a train to Busan, a big city at the south coast of Korea. (30 degrees and a beach! Oh yeah!) Also, in October, one of my best friends and awesome co-director Adrianna is visiting me (she does her Semester Abroad in Singapore). Can’t wait to see her! And as if it was faith, that week I have another two days off from uni, so I can spend even more time with her!

That’s about it. I am doing better every day. Still miss home, but I really don’t wanna leave this place. I can’t believe that I have only three more months in Seoul. OH MY GOD! Have to go, there are some really exciting things on my to do list! Have to run, bye!

  • 16 September 2013 - 18:05

    Leanne:

    Hey lien, klinkt echt te gek! Dus zo wordt t toch nog leuk!
    Sorry dat ik zo weinig op skype ben, heb t echt zooo druk, echt niet normaal.
    Was afgelopen week nog geen 5 min thuis, vandaar. Zal snel ff iets laten horen.

    Geniet ze!!!!!!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Zuid-Korea, Seoel

Seoul Seoul

Studeren in Seoul

Recente Reisverslagen:

22 Januari 2014

All stories must come to an end

15 Januari 2014

What are the odds?

28 December 2013

The day of the Turtle

21 December 2013

How not to spend your very last day in Korea

25 November 2013

K-style
Marlien

Actief sinds 17 Dec. 2012
Verslag gelezen: 307
Totaal aantal bezoekers 9011

Voorgaande reizen:

01 Augustus 2013 - 31 December 2012

Seoul Seoul

Landen bezocht: