The day of the Turtle - Reisverslag uit Moalboal, Filipijnen van Marlien Liempt - WaarBenJij.nu The day of the Turtle - Reisverslag uit Moalboal, Filipijnen van Marlien Liempt - WaarBenJij.nu

The day of the Turtle

Door: Your Humble Narrator

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marlien

28 December 2013 | Filipijnen, Moalboal




I saw a sea turtle. A big one. I swam with it for a few minutes. It was one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen. Remember this, because the story will begin a little bit more shitty…

After a terrible last week in Seoul (too much stress, exams, packing and having a tonsil infection), Julien and I were supposed to fly Sunday morning 9AM sharp, from Korea to Manila with a transfer in Ghanghzau (china). At this point all I wanted is to get on that plane and sleep but hey, at least all the stress was over.

However, the nice sir behind the counter informed us that we could not check in our luggage if we were to transfer in China. We did not have the appropriate visa to pick up the bags and get onto the next plane. The only option was to stuff all our stuff in our backpacks and make it carry- on luggage. Julien and I stared at our huge backpacks and then back at the nice mister. “You really want us to carry those into the plane as handluggage?”. “Well, you need to make them a bit smaller of course,” he said politely. So this is how I lost my shampoo, toothpaste, three shirts, two pants, a hairbrush and several last minute souvenirs. Thank god two Korean friends of Julien had insisted to say their goodbyes at the airport and they will send all our stuff home. By the time our bags had the appropriate size however, we had to run to catch our flight. Just like in the films, the lines for immigration and customs seemed so long!! In the end, we were in the plane exactly five minutes for take-off. Pfffff….

We arrived safely in Manila and the next task of finding our Hostel went more easy than expected. Although the ‘public transport’ is killing and this city is probably the most overcrowded and poorest one in the world, we made in less than two hours. By this time all we wanted was a shower and bed. During the night, more of our travel company arrived, and the next morning, Julien and I were accompanied by Dominic, Adrianna, Erlijn and Corine.

But it was not over. I woke up with a neck the size of a watermelon and an unbearable pain. Plus the rash from Korea was now all over my body and I could barely open my immensely swollen eyes. The next day we would already be leaving to the next location, but like this, a flight home seemed a better plan. So, Adrianna and I took a cab to the nearest hospital. Turned out the antibiotics I had been taking weren’t working, so he put me on new ones (hence, I haven’t had a proper glass of alcohol in three weeks ;)) And gave me painkillers. And told me again that I should really get rid of those tonsils as soon as possible!

Still feeling terrible but able to fly, the next location was the island Cebu! We are staying at a really nice hostel, 10 meters from the sea. The first days were not nice, I was feeling like shit and could not do anything. I had to rest while the others were all getting their diving licenses. Hmpf- this was not how I imagined my Christmas holiday would be. But since I was here anyways, I decided to make the best out of it. So now my days are filled with slow strolls from one beach restaurant to the other, sipping orange juices, watching the boats and divers and just do nothing. Yesterday though, I felt strong enough to give the sea a go, so I rented some snorkel gear and went for it. AND IT WAS AMAZING! I was only fifty meters from the coast and I saw everything you would dream of! Sea stars, sea eagles, sea snakes, clownfish, jellyfish, coral in all shapes possible. And suddenly there was the turtle! Just chilling as it swum beside me. I decided to follow it for a while until it was too fast and disappeared in the dark. Then I suddenly reached the end of the cliff and saw millions of sardines had assembled there. They weren’t shocked by my presence as I spend some time hanging above them admiring this beautiful sight of millions of silver fish moving in one coordinated manner.

I am so happy I saw this because it made the idea of not being able to dive so much more bearable! Day after tomorrow Adrianna and me are flying to my brother on Puerto Princessa. I still do not know whether I will have to fly home afterwards or can travel with the others for two more weeks. Chilling in a small beach town is much less demanding than walking all day through crowded cities and uneven landscapes. And how much I would love to be home, I really do not want to miss out on Vietnam and Thailand…

We will see. Whatever happens, I will always have my turtle.



  • 28 December 2013 - 09:32

    Anne:

    Hey Marlien,
    Zo ontzettend balen dat het niet gelukt is die verdomde amandelen er voor je reis uit te laten halen, je was er al bang voor...
    Maar zo'n ontmoeting met een schildpad pakken ze je nooit meer af, wat een fantastisch gevoel moet dat zijn geweest!
    Ik hoop dat de antibiotica gauw aanslaan en je nog lekker 2 weken kunt reizen.
    Groetjes,
    Anne

  • 28 December 2013 - 10:46

    Leanne:

    Omg echt kut elke keer die keelontstekingen. Daarmee heb je het exht niet getroffen op je reis. Maar dat he nog wel hebt kunnen duiken is echt té vet! Had t echt willen zien als ik dat zo hoor. Heeeeeeeeeeeeel veeeeeeeeel plezier bij bart, geef m n dikke knuffel van me! En ik mis jullie!!!!!

  • 28 December 2013 - 19:10

    Clarien Lafeber:

    Ha schat,

    balen dat je steeds weer ziek word. ik hoop dat de antibiotica helpt. Veel plezier met Bart en alle anderen!

    xx

  • 29 December 2013 - 10:24

    Simone:

    Kippenvel! Ik wil ook een schildpad volgen! en misschien dat deze 'saaie' dagen je wel weer wat energie geven die je straks zult nodig hebben. Ontvang je daar radio 2? Moet wel een beetje aan je denken als ik al die mooie plaatjes voorbij hoor komen :)
    Heel goed nieuwjaarsfeestje met je broer en ik hoop je niet (te) snel terug te zien ;) (snapje?)

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Filipijnen, Moalboal

Seoul Seoul

Studeren in Seoul

Recente Reisverslagen:

22 Januari 2014

All stories must come to an end

15 Januari 2014

What are the odds?

28 December 2013

The day of the Turtle

21 December 2013

How not to spend your very last day in Korea

25 November 2013

K-style
Marlien

Actief sinds 17 Dec. 2012
Verslag gelezen: 348
Totaal aantal bezoekers 8990

Voorgaande reizen:

01 Augustus 2013 - 31 December 2012

Seoul Seoul

Landen bezocht: